Our Administration

Sullivan County Community Hospital is a county-owned, not-for-profit hospital located in Sullivan, Indiana. Despite SCCH’s status as a county-owned facility, no tax dollars are used to subsidize its operations or maintenance. The hospital’s not-for-profit status ensures that all financial resources remaining after expenses are legally committed to upgrading technology, patient services and the facility as a whole.

Michelle Franklin


A lifelong Wabash Valley resident, Michelle Franklin became CEO of Sullivan County Community Hospital (previously Mary Sherman Hospital) in 2007. With over 30 years of healthcare experience in a variety of roles and deep roots in the Sullivan County community, Franklin is uniquely equipped to understand and expand SCCH.

Prior to serving as CEO, Franklin served as a Registered Nurse in a variety of clinical settings and moved into administration and leadership roles beginning in 1997 when she served as Chief Nursing Officer at SCCH prior to assuming her duties as CEO. These roles allowed her to gain deep understanding and valuable insight into the organization and people she would one day lead.

In her years as CEO, Franklin has witnessed the building of a new hospital, overseen the annexation and creation of a network of clinics on an ever-burgeoning health campus, exponentially increased the number of residents served and employed by the hospital, and fought tirelessly to bring access to specialized healthcare services to our rural residents. While expanding services, Franklin has also established an active and thriving ACO program which coordinates the care of some of our most vulnerable patient populations and connects residents with community health and social resources to improve health outcomes.

Franklin is a married mother of two children. In her spare time, she enjoys spending time with her animals, traveling domestically and abroad, reading, gardening, and cooking.

Franklin received her BSN from the University of Evansville and her MSN from Indiana State University. Michelle Franklin is also a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives.

Jim Bishop


Jim Bishop joined SCCH as Chief Financial Officer in March 2018. Bishop’s healthcare career started in the third-party reimbursement area with a for-profit hospital system consisting of 100 hospitals nationwide. Bishop transitioned into a CFO role and has over 30 years of experience in both for-profit and non-profit facilities ranging from 300 – 1,200 employees. His experience has allowed him to implement and improve hospital financial systems to obtain excellent financial results.

Bishop is a married father of two grown children. In his spare time, he enjoys fishing, hunting, boating and sports. Bishop is a Certified Public Accountant and holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Tennessee at Martin (also known as the “Harvard of the South”) with a major in accounting.

Lori Resler

Chief Nursing Officer

Resler began her tenure as Chief Nursing Officer at Sullivan County Community Hospital in October 2011. Resler obtained her nursing degrees at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) and Indiana Weslayan University.

She has served in a variety of leadership roles, including medical practice management and administration in private practice, home health services, and hospice care settings.

Board of Trustees

SCCH is governed by a five-member Board of Trustees, appointed to four-year terms by the Sullivan County Commissioners in accordance with Indiana Code. They represent Sullivan County community businesses and leaders.

The Board of Trustees determines hospital policy and provides direction and counsel on strategic issues such as management, planning, and development. They are responsible for hospital compliance with applicable legal requirements, the maintenance of professional and ethical standards of healthcare services, the appropriate financial management of SCCH, and the selection and appointment of a qualified medical staff.

Board meetings are scheduled monthly, usually the third Tuesday of each month, and are open to the public. Board members may be contacted through Sullivan County Community Hospital’s administrative office at (812) 268-4311, ext. 2372.

Carrie Page

Alan Badger

Bruce Walkup

Thad Pirtle

Sarah Hannon

Management Team

Sal Alejandre

Patient Access Supervisor

Maddison Barbarick

Director of Emergency Services

Hap Beckes

Director of Information Systems

Lindsay Beabout

Director of Care Coordination

Amber Bowling

Director of Radiology

Holly Clark

Director of Risk & Compliance

Denise Hart

Director of Human Resources

Kurt Hauger

Director of Pharmacy

Drew Hogue

Director of SCCH Fitness Center

Janis Hughbanks

Director of Education

Dale Land

Director of Non-clinical Staff

Jamie Ladson

Director of Pain Management

Casey Lewis

Director of Quality

Erin Ledune

Director of Public Relations

Shelly Newton

Director of Environmental Sciences

Susan Pershing

Director of Respiratory & Sleep

Amy Pirtle

Director of Rehabilitation Services

Molly Price

Director of SCCH Clinics

Traci Ray

Director of Nutritional Services

Jennifer Ridgway

Director of Revenue Cycle

Ron Shake

Director of Physical Plant

Tammy Siner

Director of Medical Records

Patricia Singer

Director of Clinic Quality & Compliance

Jana Smith

Director of Patient Care Services

Tiffany Veach


Teresa Wilson

Director of Materials Management

Paula York

Director of Laboratory Services